10 reasons to come back to Versailles in 2020

Even if you already visited it, Versailles can surprise you at every moment and during every seasons.
With its various exhibitions, its restaurants with constantly renewed menus and its nature full of treasures in the heart of the city, I can fully guarantee that Versailles will surprise you again in 2020.
  • hmropi4d-799
  • photo-1414235077428-338989a2e8c0-800
1. Because of its gastronomic restaurants

In Versailles, you won’t ever be starving ! You will find various restaurants with a mouth-watering cuisine and with pleasant locations! Do you want to eat in the park of the Palace of Versailles? It is possible! To eat at a few steps away from the halls of Notre Dame Market and observe the turmoil of what is going on there? It is possible too! Fans of good food will find what they are looking for, especially with unparalleled gastronomic restaurants. In Versailles, there are the Pincemin which has the Assiette Michelin distinction and la Table du 11 which is a one-star restaurant. If you want to find a good restaurant, I recommend you to consult our list of restaurants.
 
2. For its royal experience

If you want to live a royal experience, there is no doubt, it is in Versailles that you should spend your time. With its luxury hotels, you are going to make people envious. Besides, in 2021, you will have the privilege to discover the new luxury hotel: Le Grand Contrôle des Airelles Hotel. Located in the Palace of Versailles, you will roam the Palace and the Petit Trianon during private tours. You will also have a direct access to the gardens and to the Orangerie. With its 14 rooms and apartments you will be certain to have a surprising, authentic and intimate experience. To improve your stay, you will also have the possibility to spend time to the Spa of the Maison Valmont or to enjoy delightful meals prepared by the chef Alain Ducasse which will make you spend a moment out of time.  
 
3. To discover the new exhibition of the Musée Lambinet

For those who do not know the Musée Lambinet, it is a former mansion house of the XVIIth century. It was built for a building contractor of Louis XV. In 1929, the Lambinet family bequeathed it to the city of Versailles in order to use it as a museum opened to the public in 1932. In this museum, you will have the opportunity to discover paintings, sculptures, drawings, engravings, furnitures and pieces of art from Renaissance till XXth century.  At the beginning of the year, the museum housed the exhibition “One Hundred Portraits for a Century” which gathered almost fifty portraits painted and drawned, showing the art of living of the XVIIIth century. My little finger told me that you are also going to appreciate the next exhibition of the museum which is going to take place from the 16th of May till the 26th of July 2020! This temporary exhibition will be named “Versailles during the XXth century, muse of the artists”.  
  • 2v4zc8rq-801
  • photo-1544161515-4ab6ce6db874-802
4. To enjoy the calm of the town and its nature

Personally, the thing I prefer in Versailles, is its important part of nature in the city center. During the summer season, you can laze around some parks; you can also have a picnic or contemplate the nature moving around you. To enjoy it fully, there are plenty of solutions! You can spend a night in the Camping Huttopia, in its superb chalets, where you will enjoy fresh air and have some rest with your family.
You can also go hiking and do natural strolls with Naturez-vous. Discover a detailed article right here. Families are going to appreciate the number of open air activities like strolls by Segway, horse riding, a bark tour on the Grand Canal… 
 
5. To review your good manners

If you come to Versailles, you should review your classics! Let’s meet France de Heere during a workshop around the knowledge of French living. You will also learn the art of greeting and introducing, how to take care of your image, the French gallantry, the French culinary art and many others! Do not hesitate to review your french art-de-vivre and the etiquette required at the court of Louis XIVth.
 
6. To relax and laze around

Another incredible experience in Versailles: the Guerlain Spa! Located in the heart of the luxurious Trianon Palace, a five-star hotel of Versailles, you should prepare yourself to enter in a place of peace and luxury. With its 2800 m², you will not have a lack of space to enjoy the covered and heated swimming pool, its hammam and its sauna. Let yourself be tempted by an exceptional care which will help you to relax and be transported somewhere else.
  • 800x600-street-art-deux-portes-otv-8601-803
  • qt5fm6lq-804
  • photo-1575321454403-a5b3b9f73da5-805
7. To wear a beautiful costume

We can say that in Versailles, the art to wear a costume and to party is ancestral. In fact, everything began with Louis XIVth who organized many spectacular parties in the Palace of Versailles. You should know that even today, you can participate to festivities inside the Palace such as The Grand Masked Ball or the Fêtes Galantes. But, there is no way, you come with your classic clothes. You will have to be dressed with your finest ornaments. You can count on many costume shops scattered all around the city to find the perfect costume and the one which would make you travel through the XVIIth century.
 
8. To discover the Palace listed as UNESCO World Heritage Site and its gardens  

One of the essentials of the city is of course the Palace of Versailles and its gardens. If you want to visit it, you should obtain the one-day pass or the two-day pass to fully explore it. During the morning, you can walk in the footsteps of the great kings of France in the Palace and, during the afternoon, you can walk through the Queen Hamlet or Marie-Antoinette Estate. If you choose the two-day pass, you will have more time to explore the city of Versailles and to take advantage of a discount on the King’s Kitchen Garden or the shows of the Equestrian Academy of Versailles.
 
9. To increase your knowledge about Street Art

A lot of people think that Versailles is a royal city which can look like pretty classic or conservative. However, our beautiful city of Versailles can show many facets.
Discover amazing and artistic pieces of art turned to the history of the city. In fact, different artists recently achieve many street art works scattered everywhere in the city. With the Tourist Office, you can participate to a visit to discover some of them in the heart of Versailles. But, if you are curious and if you have time, do not hesitate to go to the city of Jussieu to discover its frescos broaden on entire walls and which invite to the daydream and reflection. To find out more about it, here is an article about Street art
 
10. To discover the cradle of the electro music

If you are a fan of electro music, it will not be a surprise for you. If you are not familiar with this musical style, you may learn something today.
In fact, Versailles is the city where many electro talents emerge, especially during the 2000’s. Sofia Coppola’s films spotlighted the music of some bands such as Air or Phoenix. You can also listen to the titles of Saint-Michel who was born in Versailles too. Some events continue to be created like the Versailles Electrochic Festival or Versailles Electro in the Palace of Versailles which is a good opportunity for the electro artists to perform and to share their knowledge. Electro music, this modern music style, has been completely absorbed by the city. We can notice it through the video published by the Palace of Versailles which invited the artist Thylacine to record the sonic atmosphere of the monument: the cracks of the floor, noises of the locks and all the universe inside. The result is pretty unprecedented and I recommend you to discover it!  
Written by Adélaïde
Published on Friday August 07, 2020 at 10:57

10 raisons de (re)venir à Versailles en 2020

Que vous l’ayez déjà visitée ou non, Versailles saura vous surprendre à chaque moment et saison de l’année. Entre ses expositions variées, ses restaurants aux cartes sans cesse renouvelées et sa nature qui recèle de trésors en plein cœur de la ville, je peux vous assurer que Versailles saura toujours vous surprendre en 2020 !
  • hmropi4d-799
  • photo-1414235077428-338989a2e8c0-800

1. Pour ses restaurants gastronomiques


A Versailles vous ne risquez pas de mourir de faim ! Vous y trouverez bon nombre de restaurants qui vous mettront l’eau à la bouche et qui bénéficient d’une localisation des plus sympathiques ! Manger au milieu du parc du château ? C’est possible ! Manger près des Halles du Marché Notre-Dame et observer le tumulte de ce qui s’y passé ? C’est possible aussi ! Les amateurs de bonne chair trouveront leur compte avec notamment des restaurants gastronomiques hors pair. A Versailles vous trouverez le Pincemin qui détient l’assiette Michelin et la Table du 11 qui possède une étoile. Je vous recommande de consulter notre liste de restaurants pour trouver votre bonheur ! 


2. Pour son expérience royale


Si vous rêvez de vivre une expérience royale, pas de doute, c’est à Versailles que cela devra se passer. Avec ses hôtels luxueux vous allez faire des jaloux ! D’ailleurs, dès 2021 vous pourrez découvrir avec joie le nouvel hôtel de luxe qui s’ouvrira à Versailles : l’hôtel Le Grand Contrôle des Airelles. Situé au cœur du château de Versailles, vous pourrez ainsi arpenter le Château ainsi que le Petit Trianon au cours de visites privées. Vous aurez également un accès direct sur les jardins et l’Orangerie !  Avec ses 14 chambres et appartements vous serez assurés de vivre une expérience insolite, authentique et intimiste. Pour parfaire le tout, vous pourrez au cours de ce séjour aller profiter du spa de la maison Valmont ou encore de repas exquis préparés par le chef Alain Ducasse qui vous fera passer un moment hors du temps.


3. Pour découvrir la nouvelle exposition au musée Lambinet


Pour ceux qui ne le connaissent pas, le musée Lambinet est un ancien hôtel particulier du XVIIIème siècle. Il a été construit pour un entrepreneur des bâtiments de Louis XV. En 1929, la famille Lambinet le légue à la ville de Versailles afin d’en faire un musée ouvert au public en 1932. Dans ce musée vous pourrez ainsi découvrir des peintures, sculptures, dessins, gravures, meubles et objets d’art datant de la Renaissance au milieu du XXème siècle. En début d’année, le musée a accueilli l’exposition Cent Portraits pour un Siècle qui regroupait près de cinquante portraits peints et dessinés montrant l’art de vivre au XVIIIème siècle. Mon petit doigt me dit que vous allez également apprécier la prochaine exposition prévue au musée qui se déroulera du 16 mai au 26 juillet 2020 ! Cette exposition temporaire s’appellera : Versailles au XXème siècle, muse des artistes.
  • 2v4zc8rq-801
  • photo-1544161515-4ab6ce6db874-802

4. Pour profiter du calme et du repos de sa nature 


Moi ce que j’adore à Versailles c’est sa part de nature importante au cœur même de la ville. Vous pouvez, pendant la belle saison, lézarder dans de jolis parcs, pique-niquer et voir la nature s’agiter autour de vous. Pour en profiter pleinement il y a mille et une solutions ! Vous pourrez passer la nuit au Camping Huttopia, dans de superbes chalets et ainsi pouvoir vous reposer à l’air pur avec toute votre petite famille. Vous pourrez également profiter des randonnées et des balades natures proposées par Naturez-Vous ! Découvrez un article plus détaillé à ce sujet ici. Les familles apprécieront le grand nombre d’activités plein air proposées telles que balade en segway, balade à cheval, tour en barque sur le Grand Canal
 

5. Pour réviser ses bonnes manières


Si vous venez à Versailles, il faudra peut-être réviser vos classiques ! Faites la rencontre de France de Heere au cours d’un Atelier du Savoir-Vivre ! Vous pourrez notamment y apprendre l’art des présentations et des salutations, comment prendre soin de son image, la galanterie française, l’art de la table et bien d’autres ! Venez réviser cet art de vivre à la française due à notre cher Louis XIV et à la fameuse étiquette qu’il demandait aux nobles de la Cour !


6. Pour se relaxer et buller


Autre expérience incroyable à Versailles : le Spa Guerlain ! Situé au cœur du luxueux Trianon Palace, hôtel 5* de Versailles, vous pourrez vous préparer à entrer dans un écrin de luxe et de quiétude. Avec ses 2800 m², vous ne manquerez pas d’espace pour profiter de sa piscine couverte et chauffée, de son hammam et de son sauna. Laissez-vous tenter par un soin exceptionnel qui saura à coup sûr vous détendre et vous transporter ailleurs.
  • 800x600-street-art-deux-portes-otv-8601-803
  • qt5fm6lq-804
  • photo-1575321454403-a5b3b9f73da5-805

7. Pour se costumer comme jamais 


On peut dire qu’à Versailles l’art de se costumer et de faire la fête est ancestrale. En effet tout a commencé avec Louis XIV qui organisait des fêtes absolument spectaculaires au château de Versailles. Sachez que même de nos jours il est possible de revivre ces festivités extraordinaires. Vous pouvez notamment participer aux fêtes organisées au château telles que le Bal Masqué ou encore les Fêtes Galantes. Mais pas question de venir habillé tel que vous êtes, vous devrez vous parer de mille feux et pour cela comptez sur les nombreuses boutiques de costumes dans la ville pour dénicher le costume de vos rêves qui vous plongera directement au XVIIème siècle.


8. Pour découvrir son château classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco et ses jardins !


Un des incontournables de Versailles c’est bien sûr son château et ses superbes jardins. Pour effectuer une visite des plus optimales je vous recommande de vous procurer un Passeport 1 jour ou encore un Passeport 2 jours pour l’explorer en toute quiétude. Vous pourrez dès le matin vous balader sur les pas des plus grands rois de France dans le château et poursuivre l’après-midi à vous balader dans le hameau de la reine ou encore le Domaine de Trianon. Si vous avez pris le passeport 2 jours il vous restera un peu de temps pour profiter du reste de ce que la ville de Versailles peut vous offrir, ne passez-pas à côté des réductions sur le Potager du Roi ou encore le spectacle présenté à l’Académie équestre !


9. Pour étoffer ses connaissances en Street Art


Beaucoup de monde s'imagine Versailles comme une ville royale qui peut s'avérer assez classique et conservatrice, cependant notre belle ville de Versailles peut se montrer sous un autre jour de temps à autre. Découvrez des œuvres étonnantes, artistiques et résolument tournées vers l’histoire de la ville. En effet, différents artistes ont récemment réalisé de nombreuses œuvres Street Art qui sont éparpillées un peu partout dans la ville. Vous pourrez au cours d’une visite avec l’Office de Tourisme de Versailles en découvrir un certain nombre rassemblées au cœur de la ville. Mais si vous êtes curieux et que vous avez du temps je vous recommande de vous rendre dans la cité Jussieu pour découvrir des fresques qui s’étendent sur des murs entiers et vous inviteront à la rêverie et à la réflexion. Pour en savoir plus découvrez notre article sur le Street Art.


10. Pour découvrir le berceau de l’électro


Si vous êtes un grand admirateur de musique électro peut-être que cela ne sera pas une grande nouvelle pour vous et si vous n’êtes pas familier de ce genre musical peut-être apprendrez-vous quelque chose aujourd’hui ! Versailles est en effet une ville où de nombreux talents de l’électro ont émergé notamment dans les années 2000. Les films de Sofia Coppola ont permis de mettre en avant la musique des groupes Air ou encore Phoenix. Vous pouvez également écouter les titres de Saint-Michel lui aussi originaire de Versailles. Des événements ont ensuite continué à se développer tels que le Festival ElectroChic ou encore Versailles Electro au Château de Versailles qui permettent aux meilleurs artistes électro de se produire et de partager leur savoir-faire. L’électro, cette musique très moderne arrive bien à se fondre dans la ville, on peut le remarquer notamment grâce à une vidéo postée par le Château de Versailles qui a invité l’artiste Thylacine à venir enregistrer l’atmosphère sonore de Versailles, ses craquements de parquet, ses bruits de serrure et tout l’univers qui s’y profile. Cela donne un résultat inédit que je vous invite à découvrir !
 
Ecrit par Adélaïde
Publié le vendredi 07 août 2020 à 10h57