Château Versailles Spectacles - Philippe Jaroussky : Oratorio

Entertainment/recreation
Location : Galerie des Glaces du Château de Versailles
  • Hall of mirrors

Presentation

Cast
Philippe Jaroussky Countertenor
Ensemble Artaserse
Presentation
In baroque Rome, stage performances were regularly banned, and women could not perform in concerts either. It was then that the oratorio gained its place: sacred or allegorical librettos fed the dramatic vein of the music, without departing from the rules imposed by the Pope, and giving first place to the castrati! Originally performed in the Oratory of the Church of San Filippo Neri, they were quickly presented in the palaces of the Roman princes, under the signature of Carissimi, Stradella, Scarlatti, but also Handel! Italy reigned over musical Europe, its great composers and singers were active in all the princely courts and large cities of the continent. They used the same language and the same expressive intensity both in theatres and churches, the sacred was however bound by strict rules, without sacrificing virtuosity or the love of beautiful melodies.

Drawing from a vast repertoire of innumerable gems, Philippe Jaroussky offers a programme tailored to his legendary musicality and his no less celebrated vocal mastery. A nod from an artist who has just celebrated the 20th anniversary of his beginnings, Philippe Jaroussky's new album includes Alessandro Scarlatti's oratorio Sedecia Re di Gerusalemme, a work that propelled him to the forefront of the stage in 1999. So, for this anniversary, let us be overwhelmed by the beauty of baroque oratorios!
General information
  • Cultural and artistic :
    • Concert
  • Music :
    • Lyrical arts
Château de Versailles Spectacles
mail / message
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Fields with an asterisk * must not be left blank
My request
Your Contact Details
In accordance with Law No. 78-17 of 6 January 1978 of the National Committee for Information Technology and Civil Liberties (CNIL) with regard to computing, files and liberties (article 36), the interested party is entitled to ask for his/her personal information to be rectified, completed, clarified, updated or deleted if it is inaccurate, incomplete, ambiguous, elapsed or in respect of which it is forbidden to use, disseminate or store said information. Should you wish to exercise this right, please specify the fact in the form above.
Location
Galerie des Glaces du Château de Versailles
Place d'Armes
78000
Versailles
  • Spoken language(s) :
    • French

Prices

Category 3 : 58€ to 70€
Category 2 : 90€ to 105€
Category 1: 115€ to 130€
Prestige : 150€ to 165€
Prestige VIP : 195€
Doge : 265€


PRESTIGE CATEGORY: Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY: Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

Holders of the 2 day Chateau de Versailles passport: reduced rate applicable to reservation by telephone only at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 or directly on site on the day of the event (subject to availability).

Map

FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_LIBELLE_DESTINATION
Place d'Armes
78000
Versailles
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 48.804656
Longitude : 2.122314
We also suggest...
  • Eva Jospin at the Château de Versailles
    Exhibition of Eva Jospin at the Palace of Versailles
  • Equestrian portrait of Louis XIV, King of France
    Exhibition at the palace of Versailles - The horse in majesty

Château Versailles Spectacles - Philippe Jaroussky : Oratorio

Distractions et loisirs

Samedi 23 janvier 2021

à 21:00

Lieu : Galerie des Glaces du Château de Versailles
  • galerie des glaces

Présentation

Distribution
Philippe Jaroussky Contre-ténor
Ensemble Artaserse
Présentation
Dans la Rome baroque, les représentations scéniques étaient régulièrement interdites, et les femmes ne pouvaient pas non plus se produire en concert. C’est alors que l’oratorio prit son envol : il permettait sur des livrets sacrés ou allégoriques de faire vibrer la veine dramatique de la musique, sans déroger aux règles imposées par le Pape, et en donnant la première place aux Castrats ! Interprétés à l’origine dans l’Oratoire de l’Eglise San Filippo Néri, ils furent rapidement présentés dans les Palais des Princes Romains, sous la signature de Carissimi, Stradella, Scarlatti, mais aussi Haendel ! L’Italie régnait sur l’Europe musicale, ses grands compositeurs et chanteurs s’imposant dans toutes les cours princières ou les grandes villes du continent. Ils utilisaient le même langage et la même intensité expressive aussi bien au théâtre qu’à l’église, le sacré imposant cependant une tenue de rigueur, sans cependant sacrifier la virtuosité ou l’amour des grandes mélodies.

Puisant dans un vaste répertoire aux joyaux innombrables, Philippe Jaroussky propose un programme taillé à la mesure de sa musicalité légendaire et de sa maîtrise vocale non moins célébrée. Clin d’œil d’un artiste qui a tout juste fêté ses 20 ans de carrière, Philippe Jaroussky y retrouve notamment l’oratorio d’Alessandro Scarlatti, Sedecia Re di Gerusalemme, une œuvre qui l’a propulsé sur le devant de la scène dès 1999. Alors pour cet anniversaire, laissons-nous envahir par la beauté des oratorios baroques !
Informations Générales
  • Arts et culture :
    • Concert
  • Musique :
    • Art lyrique
Château de Versailles Spectacles
E-mail / Message
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués par un astérisque *
Ma demande
Mes Coordonnées
Selon la Loi n° 78-17 du 06 janvier 1978 de la Commission Nationale de l'Informatique et des Libertés (CNIL), relative à l'informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés (article 36), le titulaire du droit d'accès peut exiger que soient rectifiées, complétées, clarifiées, mises à jour ou effacées les informations le concernant qui sont inexactes, incomplètes, équivoques, périmées ou dont la collecte ou l'utilisation, la communication ou la conservation est interdite. Pour exercer ce droit, merci de le préciser dans le formulaire ci-dessus.
Lieu
Galerie des Glaces du Château de Versailles
Château Versailles Spectacles - Philippe Jaroussky : Oratorio
Place d'Armes
78000
Versailles
  • Langue(s) parlée(s) :
    • Français

Tarifs

Catégorie 3 : 58€ à 70€
Catégorie 2 : 90€ à 105€
Catégorie 1: 115€ à 130€
Prestige : 150€ à 165€
Prestige VIP : 195€
Doge : 265€

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

Porteurs du Passeport 2 jours au Château de Versailles : tarif réduit accordé exclusivement par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 ou sur place le jour de l'évènement (selon disponibilités).
Nous vous suggérons également...